Awards (under construction)

IALA distributes awards to members of IALA who are in the position of an early academic career and who provide a significant contribution to promoting collaboration in the interdisciplinary arena within Landscape Archaeology. For more information, check the paragraphs below.

Travel Award

The Travel Award is awarded biannually to the presenting author of the best abstract submitted for participitation in the next LAC conference series. The award covers travel expenditures to the location of the LAC conference. The price is awarded to undergraduate or postgraduate (Bachelor/Masters/PhD) students.

Abstracts are evaluated for their quality, value and novelty with respect to interdisciplinarity within Landscape Archaeology. Abstracts are assessed and evaluated directly by selected members of the Board and/or Advisory Board of IALA.

All BA, MA and Ph.D. students who present a paper at the next LAC conference and apply must prove their student status. Abstracts can be send to before the 1st of February 2018. The winner of the award is announced and informed accordingly on the website of IALA before the 15th of March 2018.

Awards for Article Processing Charges

The award for Article Processing Charges is awarded to individuals or institutions for a substantial contribuiton to the presentation of highly qualified interdisciplinary research related to Landscape Archaeology.


The European Association of Archaeologists instituted the European Archaeological Heritage Prize in 1999. An independent committee awards the prize annually to an individual, institution, (local or regional) government or a (European or international) officer or body for an outstanding contribution to the protection and presentation of the European archaeological heritage. In principle, this can be any contribution that is outstanding and of European scope or importance, it does not have to be a scientific contribution. The prize consists of a work of art and a diploma, without any monetary payment. The recipient of the European Archaeological Heritage Prize is announced at the Opening Ceremony of the EAA Annual Meeting.

Nominations may be made by any of the following:

  • Members of the Association (all grades of membership);
  • Professors and heads of departments of archaeology in European universities and institutes;
  • Directors of governmental heritage management organisations and agencies in European countries (members of the Council of Europe);
  • Non-governmental archaeological, heritage, and professional organisations in European countries.